I like goals. I like lists. I like crossing goals off of lists. And I like being accountable, because for me, it actually works. I even acquired an accountabilibuddy for myself this year! (It’s Lindsay Smith. Her paranormal historical YA, SEKRET, comes out in April. It’s really freaking good. You should buy it.) But I figured that in addition to our e-mail status check-ins that encompass our weekly goals, I’d do a monthly check-in on the 2014 goals I posted here. And I’d love to see how everyone else is doing on theirs in the comments!

So! Here’s my progress for January:

  1. Read 5 MGs – Ummmm not yet
  2. Read 20 Non-Contemp YAs – Two down! THE FOURTH WISH by Lindsay Ribar comes out in July and is a fan-freakin-tastic followup to her debut, THE ART OF WISHING, which you may recall was one of my fave reads of 2013. I also just read GRACELING, and enjoyed that a lot too!
  3. Read 10 Adult Books – I started WRITTEN ON THE BODY by Jeannette Winterson a little under a week ago, so, maybe that’ll be my first one?
  4. Read 115 Other Books – Thirteen down! Here‘s what I’ve read so far in 2014.
  5. Finish My Follow-Up to BEHIND THE SCENES – Still a work-in-progress, but A) you may have noticed on either my blog or website that it now has an official title, UNDER THE LIGHTS, and B) I’m making some actual progress. Yay!
  6. Finish drafting LAST WILL AND TESTAMENT – Not yet, but this is good, since I’m not allowed to touch it until I finish UtL, and I’ve only cheated the tiniest bit 🙂
  7. Finish drafting my chick lit ms – Ditto!
  8. Write at least three posts pimping QUILTBAG (QUeer/QUestioning Intersex Lesbian Transgender Bisexual Asexual Gay) titles – One down, thanks to Barnes & Noble and SparkLife! Check out 8 Great LGBTQ Characters in Young Adult Lit! Looking forward to doing another one on great 2014 LGBTQ titles mid-year, once some of my upcoming faves are published!
  9. Blog more about New Adult, specifically expanding upon the things I talk about here – Haven’t blogged about the category specifics in the way I want to, but I did get to write a primer for B&N: A Beginner’s Guide to New Adult
  10. Interview another one of my all-time favorite YA writers – Haven’t even attempted this yet, but hey, it’s still early!

How are your 2014 goals coming along?

