Well, this was a fun little surprise, and obviously I’ll take any opportunity to talk about myself and my work, so, thanks to Darci Cole for tagging me! And, as per the rules, once I’m done talking about my own ms ad nauseum, I get to tag five other people to do the same. Whee!

1. What is the name of your book? BEHIND THE SCENES

2. Where did the idea for your book come from? I actually don’t remember, though I rack my brain to try to figure this out constantly. Various storylines were inspired by certain things and thoughts but the idea as a whole? No clue.

3. In what genre would you classify your book?
Contemporary YA Romance

4. If you had to pick actors to play your characters in a movie rendition of your book, who would you choose? I’m terrible at this. The only one I can tell you for sure is that Matt Lanter would play Liam, seeing as Liam was definitely physically (and nominally) inspired by… his 90210 character, Liam! And actually, part of what inspired Vanessa, who’s Korean-American, is that I couldn’t even think of someone to play her, which drove me nuts. The fact that Asian-American actresses are seriously underrepresented in Hollywood is a very relevant part of the book.

5. Give us a one sentence synopsis of your book. Ally will need to learn to play by Hollywood’s rules if she wants to keep her actress BFF, new actor boyfriend, and dream future.

6. Is your book already published? Hahahahahahahaha no. It’s on submission, though!

7. How long did it take you to write your book? It took me about six weeks for the first draft, and then I did a few small revisions and one huge one that added about ten thousand words. I kind of revised it on and off for about six months but the total writing time was probably not more than two, two-and-a-half months.

8. What other books within your genre would you compare it to? (Or, readers of which books would enjoy yours?) I’d say it’s kind of like Jen Calonita’s “Secrets of my Hollywood Life” series, if it were from the perspective of a MC who was a combination of Liz and Austin and the whole thing were written for an older audience. And I guess Zoey Dean’s “The A-List” series and Tammara Webber’s BETWEEN THE LINES, but these are really for if you like Hollywood-set YA. I don’t actually think mine reads like any of these!

9. Which authors inspired you to write this book? Is it terrible if I say none? I love authors, obviously, but it’s pretty rare one actually inspires me to write something.

10. Tell us anything that might pique our interest in your book? Well, in my totally unbiased opinion, it’s a lot of fun, a little unpredictable at times, and has what seem to be some very popular male characters. There’s also a lot of kissing.

And now I get to tag some other people, so go forth and discuss your mss, Valerie Cole, Gina Ciocca, Maggie Hall, Cait Peterson, and Tristina Wright!