Tags

, , , , , ,

It’s the most wonderful time of the year, thanks to the lovely Jamie of Perpetual Page Turner! I live for this Annual End of Year Survey, even though it hurts my soul to have to narrow down responses.

These are always a little weird for me to do because writing the preview posts for B&N means that I read a lot of books far in advance – my reading schedule isn’t like most other book bloggers’ – and being an author means I might’ve beta read books two years before they come out. So, I’m sticking to books that were published in 2016 and that I read in 2016 (except where noted)!

2016 Reading Stats

Number Of Books You Read: 185 (As of 12/9)
Number of Re-Reads: Ain’t nobody got time for that
Genre You Read The Most From: Contemporary YA

  1. Best Book You Read in 2016:

Clearly I am going to employ the breakdown option:

2. Book You Were Excited About & Thought You Were Going To Love More But Didn’t?

Weirdly, while I absolutely loved Six of Crows and The Wrath and the Dawn – like all-time top five fave fantasies loved – their sequels didn’t do anything for me. And I know they were good sequels; I think I’m just way more of a standalone person when it comes to fantasy. A thousand percent a case of It’s not you, it’s me, and I am very glad to see how alone I am on that front.

 3. Most surprising (in a good way or bad way) book you read?  

Cherry by Lindsey Rosin – not only was this a super fun read, but it wasn’t heteronormative! Which, in fairness, wasn’t a huge surprise when I read it because Christina told me it wasn’t, which is what shoved it to the top of my TBR, but still. I also don’t know what I was thinking going into Girl Mans Up, but I definitely didn’t think I was gonna love it, so that was a delightful surprise and I am very psyched about that Morris nom!

 4. Book You “Pushed” The Most People To Read (And They Did)?

I asked Twitter, and apparently it’s between Cherry by Lindsey Rosin, The Abyss Surrounds Us by Emily Skrutskie, and This Song is (Not) For You by Laura Nowlin.

 5. Best series you started in 2016? Best Sequel of 2016? Best Series Ender of 2016?

Series Started: YA: The Conqueror’s Saga; Romance: Five Boroughs by Santino Hassell and Cyberlove by Megan Erickson and Santino Hassell

Sequel: The Long Game by Jennifer Lynn Barnes (YA) (and very much Map of Fates by Maggie Hall, which I read in 2015)

Companion: Break Me Like a Promise by Tiffany Schmidt (YA) and Love on the Ledge by Zoraida Cordova (NA)

Series Ender: The Ends of the World by Maggie Hall (Yeah, that’s a 2017, but so it goes)

 6. Favorite new author you discovered in 2016?

Santino Hassell

7. Best book from a genre you don’t typically read/was out of your comfort zone?

Last Call at the Nightshade Lounge by Paul Krueger – I am not remotely an Urban Fantasy person but I thought this was a lot of fun, full of great representation, and it has drink recipes!

 8. Most action-packed/thrilling/unputdownable book of the year?

I often read books in one shot so this is always hard for me to gauge, but I feel like I remember being really bitter at having to put down The Abyss Surrounds Us at work.

 9. Book You Read In 2016 That You Are Most Likely To Re-Read Next Year?

This Adventure Ends by Emma Mills

10. Favorite cover of a book you read in 2016?

19370304

11. Most memorable character of 2016?

Lada from And I Darken by Kiersten White

 12. Most beautifully written book read in 2016?

When the Moon Was Ours by Anna-Marie McLemore. Honestly, in any given year she writes a book, that book’s gonna be the answer. So to be fair, I’ll add another: The First Time She Drowned by Kerry Kletter.

13. Most Thought-Provoking/ Life-Changing Book of 2016?

Juliet Takes a Breath by Gabby Rivera

 14. Book you can’t believe you waited UNTIL 2016 to finally read? 

How to Repair a Mechanical Heart by JC Lillis. That’s one of my favorite LGBTQIAP YAs of all time now and people were talking about its greatness for SO LONG, but I was too lazy to pick it up for NO GOOD REASON.

 15. Favorite Passage/Quote From A Book You Read In 2016?

 “On our wedding night,” she said, “I will cut out your tongue and swallow it. Then both tongues that spoke our marriage vows will belong to me, and I will be wed only to myself. You will most likely choke to death on your own blood, which will be unfortunate, but I will be both husband and wife and therefore not a widow to be pitied.”  (Kiersten White, And I Darken)

16.Shortest & Longest Book You Read In 2016?

Under Threat by Robin Stevenson (144 pp)
Crooked Kingdom
by Leigh Bardugo (536 pp)

 17. Book That Shocked You The Most

Never Missing, Never Found by Amanda Panitch. She is goooood at twisty psych thrillers.

18. OTP OF THE YEAR (you will go down with this ship!)

Avery and [redacted] from It’s Not Me, It’s You

19. Favorite Non-Romantic Relationship Of The Year

Frances and Aled from Radio Silence by Alice Oseman

20. Favorite Book You Read in 2016 From An Author You’ve Read Previously

Outrun the Moon by Stacey Lee

21. Best Book You Read In 2015 That You Read Based SOLELY On A Recommendation From Somebody Else/Peer Pressure:

How to Repair a Mechanical Heart by JC Lillis, which thank God Becky Albertalli finally got me to read. Should also mentioned that I would never have picked up This Song is (Not) For You by Laura Nowlin if not for Rachel G. telling me it had an ace MC.

22. Newest fictional crush from a book you read in 2016?

I feel like this should be easy, and yet? I’ll go with Stellan here, because I’d been firmly Team Jack in The Conspiracy of Us and then somehow Map of Fates turned me.

23. Best 2016 debut you read?

Girl in Pieces by Kathleen Glasgow (Runner up: Last Seen Leaving by Caleb Roehrig)

24. Best Worldbuilding/Most Vivid Setting You Read This Year?

I mean, Leigh Bardugo’s pretty unbeatable here, right? Ketterdam 4eva. (Runner up: Labyrinth Lost by Zoraida Cordova)

25. Book That Put A Smile On Your Face/Was The Most FUN To Read?

It’s Not Me, It’s You by Stephanie Kate Strohm

26. Book That Made You Cry Or Nearly Cry in 2016?

A World Without You by Beth Revis – full-on hysterical crying fit. Nina LaCour’s 2017 We Are Okay did the same. Phantom Limbs by Paula Garner was a slightly more human level of crying.

27. Hidden Gem Of The Year?

Up to this Pointe by Jennifer Longo

28. Book That Crushed Your Soul?

Well, I read it in…2014, maybe? But This is Where it Ends by Marieke Nijkamp 4eva.

29. Most Unique Book You Read In 2016?

I guess that would be When the Moon Was Ours by Anna-Marie McLemore? I just do not see anyone who writes like her, and the representation and imagination and imagery in that book are all just stunning. I feel like “unique” should be something that works with format in a cool way, but this was the only book I could settle on that felt right.

30. Book That Made You The Most Mad (doesn’t necessarily mean you didn’t like it)?

Asking For it by Louise O’Neill, and no, it definitely doesn’t mean I didn’t like it.

1. New favorite book blog you discovered in 2016?

Queer Lit on my Mind, which isn’t exactly a book blog but it’s a (now-) friend’s Tumblr on which they post some of the most thoughtful and interesting reviews of LGBTQIAP books I’ve ever read.

2. Favorite review that you wrote in 2016?

Victimhood and Survival Get a New Perspective in E.K. Johnston’s Exit, Pursued By a Bear (on B&N Teen Blog)

3. Best discussion/non-review post you had on your blog?

What We Aren’t Talking About When We Talk About Feminism in YA

4. Best event that you participated in (author signings, festivals, virtual events, memes, etc.)?

I vacillate on whether or not I’ll do it again, but I’m really, really proud of #AuthorLifeMonth and how many authors it brought out of their shells on Instagram, and especially how many people said things like “I’ve never realized how much I’ve accomplished before.” Those two things were exactly the point, and I love that it worked.

5. Best moment of bookish/blogging life in 2016?

Starting LGBTQReads. The love that site received upon launch was wonderful, and it still gets so much interaction every day. The messages I get on Tumblr in particular are so freaking wonderful, and it’s been amazing to help people find the books they need and to be a source for authors to promote stuff they’d ordinarily have trouble finding a place to do so.

7. Most Popular Post This Year On Your Blog (whether it be by comments or views)?

The post introducing #AuthorLifeMonth!

8. Post You Wished Got A Little More Love?

I’m actually pleasantly surprised with the viewership on this blog, considering how infrequently I post on it these days. But I want more people to play Choices and interact with this interview!

9. Best bookish discovery (book related sites, book stores, etc.)?

I haven’t even been to The Ripped Bodice yet (fingers crossed for February!) but it is EVERYTHING. They did host me for a Skype chat one month when they chose Out on Good Behavior for their book club and that was amazing ❤

10.  Did you complete any reading challenges or goals that you had set for yourself at the beginning of this year?

Yep! Goodreads challenge was 175 books and I completed that, and goal was to finally set up LGBTQReads and I did that.

looking-ahead-books-2015

1. One Book You Didn’t Get To In 2016 But Will Be Your Number 1 Priority in 2017?

I really wanted to read The Reader by Traci Chee, Bound by Blood and Sand by Becky Allen, and Mirror in the Sky by Aditi Khorana, and own all of them, so hopefully I’ll get to them early next year! Also still haven’t read Wonders of the Invisible World by Christopher Barzak, which was my answer for this question last year, so that’s just embarrassing.

2. Book You Are Most Anticipating For 2017 (non-debut)?

Little & Lion by Brandy Colbert. I freaking loved Pointe and this character is bi and Jewish, so, no-brainer!

3. 2017 Debut You Are Most Anticipating?

The Hate U Give by Angie Thomas and It’s Not Like It’s a Secret by Misa Sugiura. (Does Katherine Locke count as a debut despite having two Romances out already? Because if so, The Girl With the Red Balloon for the motherfluffin’ win.)

 4. Series Ending/A Sequel You Are Most Anticipating in 2017?

Series Ending: The Savage Dawn by Melissa Grey
Sequel: Now I Rise by Kiersten White

5. One Thing You Hope To Accomplish Or Do In Your Reading/Blogging Life In 2017?

Honestly? Focus on it less. Looking forward to my personal life taking far more precedence in 2017.

6. A 2017 Release You’ve Already Read & Recommend To Everyone:

Uhhh there are a lot of these, so I’ll just mention the five I’ve blurbed: How to Make a Wish by Ashley Herring Blake, Our Own Private Universe by Robin Talley, Whenever I’m With You by Lydia Sharp, The Gentleman’s Guide to Vice and Virtue by Mackenzi Lee, and Geekerella by Ash Poston! (Yes, I know that’s a lot to blurb in one year but there was just no saying no to books I wanted to read that badly and then adored!)

That’s my year! How was yours?

