Tags

Welcome to day 3 of Meet the Agents of #DVpit! 

Jenny

Jenny Bent is the founder of the Bent Agency. She primarily reps adult and YA fiction.

“While I am open to any genre of adult or YA fiction, I would especially love to see a wonderful thriller or suspense novel with diverse characters or anything with a touch of the supernatural that takes me into a world I haven’t seen before.”

@jennybent
thebentagency.com

Linda

Linda Camacho joined Prospect Agency in 2015 after a decade in publishing, having done stints at Writers House, Penguin, and Random House before making the move. She received her MFA in creative writing from the Vermont College of Fine Arts. Follow her on Twitter: @LindaRandom

“I’m seeking stories where marginalized characters aren’t just the sidekicks, but the stars. I’m open to all types, particularly along the lines of race, sexuality, or disability. My focus is on MG, YA, and adult commercial fiction across all genres (especially fantasy, contemporary, and women’s fiction/romance) and select literary fiction.”

prospectagency.com

SLP

Sarah LaPolla joined Bradford Literary Agency in 2013. She had previously worked in the foreign rights department at Curtis Brown, Ltd., and became an associate agent there in 2010. Sarah received her MFA in Creative Writing (Nonfiction) from The New School in 2008, and has a B.A. in Creative Writing from Ithaca College.

“When I think of diversity, I think of stories that don’t often get told and perspectives that don’t usually get shown. Send me something that challenges me and surprises me while giving me a character to root for, no matter what themes your story portray. I represent MG, YA, and Adult fiction in the following genres: literary fiction, science fiction, magical realism, dark/psychological mystery, literary horror, and upmarket contemporary fiction. I seek stories that evoke strong connections, reflect larger themes in a subtle way, and offer a wide range of emotions (not just the dark ones, but the happier ones too!).

I do not represent nonfiction, picture books, high fantasy, inspirational/spiritual novels, romance, or erotica.”

@sarahlapolla
Blog
Bradfordlit.com

Molly

Molly Ker Hawn, the Bent Agency. She was raised in the U.S. and has spent much of her adult life in England, and she represents authors based in the U.S., Canada, and the U.K.

“I’m looking for more-literary-than-commercial YA and MG that features underrepresented voices and/or diverse characters; I’m especially interested in deeply authentic settings with a strong sense of place and creative narrative structures, and I’m always drawn to stories about ‘third culture’ characters, as well as those about immigrant and minority-indigenous cultures.”

@mollykh
thebentagency.com

Podos

Rebecca Podos is the MG and YA agent at the Rees Literary Agency in Boston. She is a graduate of the MFA Creative Writing program at Emerson College, and author of the YA novel THE MYSTERY OF HOLLOW PLACES.

“I’m interested in MG and YA featuring marginalized voices and cultures within genre fiction—sci-fi, fantasy, horror, mystery, etc. I love books in which identity is a big part of the story, but needn’t carry the whole story. I love any kind of magic realism. I’m also especially passionate about LGBTQIA+ representation, and would love to see MG and YA featuring multiple characters across the spectrum of gender and sexuality.”

@RebeccaPodos
www.rebeccapodos.com
reesagency.com

Cate

Cate Hart is a Junior Agent with Corvisiero Literary Agency, where she first started as an intern almost 3 years ago. She represents Adult Romance, Young Adult and Middle Grade authors, and is looking for historical, fantasy, mystery and narrative nonfiction.

“I am most excited to find First Nation/Indigenous American voices from Middle Grade to Adult, contemporary to fantasy. I would also love to find more stories featuring Korean and Vietnamese voices, especially featuring folk tales or fantasy elements. I love Korean Dramas, and this might be too specific, but I would love to find lush historicals like the Empress Ki or YA like Heirs or Boys Before Flowers from authentic voices.”

@CateHart
www.corvisiero.com

That’s it for today; tune in tomorrow at noon for deets on the next six agents!

