I really hadn’t planned to list resolutions, but now I’m kinda doing it for mental organization more than anything else. I really like mental organization. And lists.

Reading Resolutions

This is actually the focus of my year, because it’s the area where I find my goals the most floundering. Every year I say I’m going to do this or that and then I don’t, because being a YA blogger for B&N means I’m constantly focusing my reading on things I can turn into posts. But this year, I am determined to find a way to make it all work, including:

  • Read five Adult books. Yes, this year, I am finally doing this. I keep buying them and not reading them and it’s getting ridiculous. So, this year: Dare Me by Megan Abbott, Americanah by Chimimanda Ngozi Adichie, Broken Harbor by Tana French, The Marrying of Chani Kaufman by Eve Harris, and One Last Thing Before I Go by Jonathan Tropper. I have literally bought all of them already.
  • Read the Grisha trilogy. Yes, I already bought the first one.
  • Read the Throne of Glass series. Yes, I already bought the first one.
  • Read three sci-fi YAs. One of these will be Deceptive by Emily Lloyd-Jones, which I’m dying for since I loved Illusive. One will be Cinder by Marissa Meyer, since I bought it ages ago and still haven’t read it.
  • Finish the Lumatere Chronicles. I’ve read Finnikin, and just ordered Froi.
  • Read two nonfiction books: The invisible Orientation by Julie Sondra Decker and Yes, Please by Amy Poehler.
  • Read 175 books. That’s my Goodreads challenge, set to match about what I read this year. Right now my blog posts are about upcoming 2015 titles, so that’s where I’m starting! First on the docket: More Happy Than Not by Adam Silvera.

And actually…that’s kind of it. 2014 was a year I wrote my ass off, and I’m not sorry I did – I came out with my debut YA and NA, produced my next YA, and got a bunch of other projects started, partially revised, and forward-moving. But I have two YAs coming out in 2015, a project I’m very excited to attempt to overhaul, a YA ms I started during NaNo I’d love to finish, and hopefully I’ll be releasing Right of First Refusal at some point in the spring/summer, and the third book at the end of the year.

But honestly, I don’t want to “resolve” to do those things. I want to do them. I want them to happen. I want to put in the work. And honestly, I probably will do all those things – I work hard, I love writing, and I have a fantastic accountabilibuddy who pushes me. (And who actually does have my goals in writing.) But 2014 was a year in which my life revolved around writing, and as a result, I have at least two projects coming out in 2015 that I love to show for it. So in 2015, I’d like my writing to revolve around me. I’d like to grow in other ways, like by doing more events in-person. I’d like to take advantage of the fact that I’m not drafting from scratch on a deadline this year like I was last year.

As for blogging resolutions, I can make them, but it’s like putting “brush your teeth” on a to-do list; they’d be there just so I can cross them off. I know I’m going to feature more author interviews this year. I know I’m going to blog a ton about diverse YA/NA. I know I’m going to use my blog and everywhere I write for to support fellow authors, debuts, authors of color, QUILTBAG authors, under-the-radar books… I know. And I feel great about the fact that I know this. I feel good about what I’ve been doing, and I’m excited to do more of it.

I realize I just patted myself on the back for an entire blog post, but you know what? I’ve written enough about all the ways I suck for a while. I hope 2015 is a year we all embrace what we like about ourselves and what we’re doing. I hope 2015 is a year our voice dominates the others that make us feel like crap. I hope we all end 2015 liking who we are.

Maybe I’ll resolve to do that too.

