Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

I’m so psyched to be blogging about other books besides my own today – yay for Katy Upperman, Jessica Love, Alison Miller, Tracey Neithercott, and the YA Superlatives Blogfest! I did this last year too, and it was really fun to reflect on all my favorites, so, it’s that time again!

I have zero skills with graphics, so armed with nothing but words, here are my faves of 2014:

Favorite Dystopian: I actually don’t think I read any Dystopian YA this year, so I’ll have to go with the only Dystopian I did read this year, which was the accurately described NA “insanely hot lesbian novella” OUR BROKEN SKY by Sarah Harian.

Favorite Science Fiction: ILLUSIVE by Emily Lloyd-Jones. No contest, as this was one of my faves of the year, period.

Favorite Fantasy: Hmm, I think this one has to go to OTHERBOUND by Corinne Duyvis.

Favorite Contemporary: I’LL GIVE YOU THE SUN by Jandy Nelson. This was a fantastic year for contemporary, but given this was my favorite YA of the year, it easily takes the prize for me.

Favorite Action/Adventure: I actually don’t know what qualifies here. ILLUSIVE is honestly the one that comes to mind, but I hate to take up a spot with the same title twice. So, while Action/Adventure isn’t really how I’d classify it, for being one of my favorite contemporaries that also had a lot of physical and suspenseful elements, I’m gonna use RITES OF PASSAGE by Joy N. Hensley here.

Favorite Historical Fiction: LIES WE TELL OURSELVES by Robin Talley. Also one of my faves of the year.

Favorite Comedy: Not a Comedy through and through, but the 2014 book that made me laugh out loud the most was probably ANATOMY OF A MISFIT by Andrea Portes.

Favorite Mystery: Does DANGEROUS BOYS by Abigail Haas count as a mystery? Whatever, I’m counting it.

Favorite Romance: Ugh, don’t make me choose. I’ve already gone on ad nauseam on other blogs about OPEN ROAD SUMMER and EVERYTHING LEADS TO YOU, but I have to give a shoutout to the one that most made me wish I were in the middle of writing something similar on the spot (which means I wanted to roll around in the swooniness, basically): WHATEVER LIFE THROWS AT YOU by Julie Cross.

Favorite Paranormal: THE FOURTH WISH by Lindsay Ribar. Loved the first book in this duology, and loved this one even more. I feel really remiss not giving SEKRET by Lindsay Smith a shoutout here, though, because it was such a different kind of Paranormal from TFW, and one I also loved, and it was my other favorite Historical, so, bam.

Favorite Genre Bender: KISS KILL VANISH by Jessica Martinez. I don’t even really know how to qualify this one. Suspense? Thriller? Anyway, liked it a lot!

