Tags

,

Why, hello there! I’m Dahlia Adler, and you may remember me from such films as “this blog” and “other blogs” and maybe even “Twitter.” If I’m doing life right (and am I, really?), you also know me from my debut contemporary YA novel, Behind the Scenes, or at least because of the fabulous cover of its upcoming companion, Under the Lights. (Which is now available for pre-order in paperback on Amazon, by the way!) And maybe maybe maybe you’ve even noticed that I’m pretty into both NA and the whole publishing process thing.

So this announcement probably isn’t terribly shocking (especially because I’ve been really unsubtly talking about it for months), but let’s pretend it is:

I AM SELF-PUBLISHING A CONTEMPORARY NA ROMANCE!!! AAAAAHHHHHH!!!!

Hahahahaha okay I can’t even all-caps that with a straight face, but I really am self-publishing a Contemporary NA Romance. It’s called Last Will and Testament, and I’m pretty damn in love with it. Contemporary NA Romance is kinda my jam, and I’ve been writing it since I was in college, and getting to put some out into the world is pretty much the best thing. I’d do the whole “Warning: there is sex and swearing and drinking!” thing, but, uh, if you’ve read my other stuff, that’s not new. There’s a whole lot more, and it’s a lot more explicit, but I think it’s pretty clear I’m not too shy about this stuff, and my books are not for your fourth-graders. (Though at least my books won’t teach kids that “her silken folds” is a thing real people say.)

So WTF is this book? Well, I’m glad you asked! Here’s the synopsis!

Lizzie Brandt was valedictorian of her high school class, but at Radleigh University, all she’s acing are partying and hooking up with the wrong guys. But all that changes when her parents are killed in a tragic accident, making her guardian to her two younger brothers. To keep them out of foster care, she’ll have to fix up her image, her life, and her GPA—fast. Too bad the only person on campus she can go to for help is her humorless, pedantic Byzantine History TA, Connor Lawson, who isn’t exactly Lizzie’s biggest fan.

But Connor surprises her. Not only is he a great tutor, but he’s also a pretty great babysitter. And chauffeur. And listener. And he understands exactly what it’s like to be on your own before you’re ready. Before long, Lizzie realizes having a responsible-adult type around has its perks…and that she’d like to do some rather irresponsible (but considerably adult) things with him as well. Good thing he’s not the kind of guy who’d ever reciprocate.

Until he does.

Until they turn into far more than teacher and student.

Until the relationship that helped put both their lives back together threatens everything they both have left.

Okay, but is it any good? I sure think so, though in fairness, I’m a little biased. But here are some things that real, intelligent writerly people who’ve read it have had to say!

“HOT HOT HOTHOTHOTHOTHOTHOT. That’s really all I can say about that. When he tells her he [spoiler] I was like OH MY GOD PLEASE JUMP OUT OF THIS BOOK AND DEMONSTRATE FOR ME.”

“I reeeeeally liked Connor (his sternness is so mrowr).”

“I thought this was going to be an XTREME ANGSTISTENTIAL story. I was so thrilled when it wasn’t.”

“I hate you a little and I cried.”

“I felt like kind of a perv like, dying of the hotness.”

“I’d totally put [Lizzie] on my Kickass Womyn Goodreads shelf.”

“Okay. Let’s discuss the feels. You owe me a heart and maybe a doughnut, okay?”

“DAMN GURL DAT SHIT IS HOTTTTT.”

And my personal favorite: “All-in-all, I think you should let me blurb your next book. Maybe your autobiography? “Dahlia writes sex scenes that are better than most chapters in the bible. Better than Shakespearean poetry.”

(They also said some things about the writing and story being good and stuff, but these lines felt more important.)

I’ll have news on the cover reveal and all of that soon, but the most important thing is that Last Will and Testament will be released on December 9, 2014! I’m pretty terrible at Pinterest, but for a little insider info on the book, I do have a board for the book, and there may be some hot Ian Harding pics on it. (Plus you can learn which two author friends lent their names to Lizzie’s best friends!) If you’re so inclined, you can even go ahead and add it on Goodreads 😉

So, that’s what’s up! Got questions? Lay ’em on me! Otherwise, I’m looking forward to sharing Lizzie and Connor’s story with you, and writing obnoxiously long acknowledgments to everyone who’s been so awesome in the process!

