Tags

, ,

Welcome to another edition of Author Spotlight on The Daily Dahlia! Today I’ve got Kara Taylor…and that’s all I’ll say here, because you’re about to learn everything else you need to know. AND ALSO BECAUSE I REALLY NEED TO GET TO THIS PICTURE NOW.

AuthorSpotlightKaraTaylor27191_1223936242539_6013650_nClearly you need an official bio on the chicken girl ASAP:

Kara has a BA in English/Secondary Education from Stony Brook University. She loves New Girl, sushi, and puppets that say rude things. It’s her dream to own a bakery someday.

Kara was inspired to start writing in part by her grandmother giving her Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone, and in part by her father’s bizarre antics, such as blow-drying his car. Her father looked like Borat in the 80’s.

Kara lives on Long Island with a Chihuahua named Izzy and a kitten named Felix. Her favorite authors are Gillian Flynn, Stephanie Perkins, and Nelson Demille. She writes full-time. She was the writer and co-executive producer of The Revengers, a dramedy developed for The CW, executive produced by Rashida Jones and Will McCormack (Celeste & Jesse Forever).

Website: www.karamtaylor.com
IndieBound: http://www.indiebound.org/search/apachesolr_search?author_filter=Taylor%2C+Kara
Twitter: http://www.twitter.com/karatwrites

Aaaaand the Dahliafied version:

Kara writes a freaking fantastic mystery series whose first book kept me up waaaaay too late, and which blissfully satisfies my Veronica Mars-y cravings. (See my  She also wrote for a TV show, and also, she’s basically young enough to be my daughter (it’s possible I am exaggerating slightly), so I am a little humbled.

Now, let’s talk about that aforementioned series of awesome, shall we?

The Published:

Little-known fact about Prep School Confidential: This was the third full manuscript I wrote, but the first one that was published.

A sensory image to accompany it: The smell of smoke

Buy It: Amazon * B&N * IndieBound

Little-known fact about Dirty Little Secrets: This is the book I consider the “easiest” to write. I finished it in four months, and it didn’t require that much revision. If only it always worked out like that!

A sensory image to accompany it: The woods at night, i.e.: https://www.flickr.com/photos/incatbirdcolors/6551956249/

Buy It: Amazon * B&N * IndieBound

 The Upcoming:

Deadly Little Sins releases August 5, 2014! 

Pre-order it: Amazon * B&N * IndieBound

And now, let’s get rec-ing ball on the mofo:

Tell us about your critique partners and why their books are awesome!

Debra Driza (author of MILA 2.0) writes action-packed sic-fi with an ass-kicking protagonist. (Think Nikita, if she were an android.)

Lindsey Culli writes contemporary that always leaves me feeling gutted in a good way, and my agent-sister Kathy Bradey has written some of the most imaginative fantasy books I’ve ever read.

1-3 other books in your genre (which for Kara, if you haven’t caught on, dear readers, is YA mystery) you love:

  1. Pretty Little Liars by Sara Shepard
  2. Deadly Cool by Gemma Halliday

1-3 books not in your genre that you love:

  1. Sharp Objects by Gillian Flynn
  2. Night Fall by Nelson DeMille

And, finally, let’s talk publishing:

Who are you repped by?

I’m represented by Suzie Townsend of New Leaf Literary, a book-selling ninja. For my TV writing, I’m represented by United Talent Agency and Brillstein Entertainment Partners.

As a published author, what’s something you’ve learned through the process was not worth the stress?

Self-promotion. You can peddle bookmarks and introduce yourself to librarians until you’re blue in the face, but self-promoting is like trying to fill a giant bucket one drop at a time. If I had to do it all over again, I’d focus on working on my next book instead of trying to promote the soon-to-be-published ones.

What’s something that actually was?

Gutting an entire manuscript based on my editor’s notes. Revising/re-writing is a really stressful part of the publication process, but I’m always happier with the end result.

What sorts of things do you shamelessly pass off as “research”?

Watching ID Discovery (A True Crime station). Unusual Suspects, My Deadly Secret, etc. Those shows are my catnip. Also watching documentaries; I recently watched WEST OF MEMPHIS.

What do you always wish people would ask you in interviews?

“Where do you get your story ideas from?” HAH! Just kidding. I wish people would ask what I would do if I couldn’t be a writer. I’d love to be a producer or network executive in the entertainment industry. If not, I’d maybe try to use my English teaching degree.

Leave some love for Kara in the comments, and check back here on/around the 1st and 15th of every month to meet some more awesome authors!

