Tags

,

Now, I don’t do a ton of promo-y stuff on my blog, and I really don’t talk about a lot of non-contemporary YA on my blog, so if I’m doing both in one post, you can guess I’m pretty obsessed with this book. And indeed I am! ILLUSIVE by Emily Lloyd-Jones just might be my favorite YA sci-fi of ever, and if the words “X-Men meets Ocean’s Eleven” do quivery things to your insides like they should, it just might jump onto your list of faves too! So, you should probably read it 😉

Wanna learn a little more? Here’s some info about the book:

illusive-cover-1The X-Men meets Ocean’s Eleven in this edge-of-your-seat sci-fi adventure about a band of “super” criminals.

When the MK virus swept across the planet, a vaccine was created to stop the epidemic, but it came with some unexpected side effects. A small percentage of the population developed superhero-like powers. Seventeen-year-old Ciere Giba has the handy ability to change her appearance at will. She’s what’s known as an illusionist…She’s also a thief.

After a robbery goes awry, Ciere must team up with a group of fellow super-powered criminals on another job that most would consider too reckless. The formula for the vaccine that gave them their abilities was supposedly destroyed years ago. But what if it wasn’t?

The lines between good and bad, us and them, and freedom and entrapment are blurred as Ciere and the rest of her crew become embroiled in a deadly race against the government that could cost them their lives.

Places to Purchase:
Signed Copes at Gallery Bookshop: www.gallerybookshop.com/book/9780316254564
Barnes & Noble: www.barnesandnoble.com/w/illusive-emily-lloyd-jones/1117321253?ean=9780316254564
BAM: www.booksamillion.com/p/Illusive/Emily-Lloyd-Jones/9780316254564?id=6008814428335
IndieBound:http://www.indiebound.org/book/9780316254564
Audible: www.audible.com/pd/Kids/Illusive-Audiobook/B00L5OP6OA/ref=a_search_c4_1_1_srTtl?qid=1403323308&sr=1-1

authorphoto

Emily Lloyd-Jones grew up on a vineyard in rural Oregon, where she played in evergreen forests and learned to fear sheep. After graduating from Western Oregon University with an English degree, she enrolled in the publishing program at Rosemont College just outside of Philadelphia. She currently resides in Northern California, working in a bookstore by day and writing by night.

 But the main reason I’m blogging right now is because Emily posed a very important question, and I need to answer it:

ILLUSIVE bannerCan you guess what I picked?

TELEPORTATION HELL YEAH

I can’t even imagine a better power than teleportation. NO MORE COMMUTING. (I know, I know – that is the most old-person reason to choose a superpower ever, but whatever. I know my fellow commuters totally hear me on this.) NO TRAVEL COSTS. NO DEALING WITH THE TSA. And, most important, YOU CAN HAVE WHATEVER SNACKS YOU WANT WHEN YOU TRAVEL AND NO ONE CAN MAKE YOU THROW OUT YOUR OLD, FULL WATER BOTTLE JUST TO BUY A NEW ONE.

I aim really high, guys. It’s what I do.

But for real, I love love love to travel, and if I could get somewhere in an instant, without factoring in travel time and costs, I can’t even imagine what a gamechanger – and lifechanger – it would be, especially now that I’ve got Twitter friends all around the world! (BtS signing in Manila, anyone?)

So, teleportation is my no-brainer immunity choice. What’s yours?

