Tags

, , , , ,

It’s been a while since I’ve done a Top Ten Tuesday, courtesy of the Broke and the Bookish, but when I saw an open topic set for this week, I got verrrry excited to jump back aboard! As anyone who knows me well knows, Contemporary is by far my genre of choice when it comes to YA, but every now and again, I find something outside the world of realism and fall head over heels. And so, for my list, I’ve chosen my 10 favorite non-realistic YAs. Voila!

SEKRET by Lindsay Smith – Psychic teen spies. In Russia. During the Cold War. Hell to the da.

ILLUSIVE by Emily Lloyd-Jones – Ocean’s 11 meets X-Men, and yes, that is a spot-on description. Definitely one to nab once it releases on July 15!

THE ART OF WISHING and THE FOURTH WISH by Lindsay Ribar – I’m only counting them once, because you must read them both. My best surprise of last year, it’s one of those books (well duologies) you might not think you’ll love…until you absolutely, unequivocally do. (The second book releases on July 31.)

BEWARE THE WILD by Natalie C. Parker – Simply gorgeous. You won’t believe the power a book has to suck you into its atmosphere until you pick this one up on October 21.

THE UNBECOMING OF MARA DYER by Michelle Hodkin – It’s been a while since I read this one, and I ultimately never picked up the rest of the trilogy, but I do remember being utterly obsessive about it at the time. Like, “All I want to read is something exactly like this right now.”

ANNA DRESSED IN BLOOD by Kendare Blake – I actually picked this one up immediately after reading MARA DYER, because I wasn’t ready to wade back into Contemporary just yet. It was my first foray into YA Horror, but definitely not my last!

OTHERBOUND by Corinne Duyvis – I just just read this one, and fell in love by the end of the first chapter. It has a crazy unique premise and a wonderful world, and ugh just get it as soon as you can. (Out June 17.)

LIV, FOREVER by Amy Talkington – This one was hella creepy and artsy and just overall lovely.

FINNIKIN OF THE ROCK by Melina Marchetta – She can pretty much do no wrong in my eyes, and this epic fantasy was no exception. Can’t wait to read the rest of the trilogy!

And, kind of cheating, because I’ve only actually beta read an old version, but I need to mention BETWEEN by Megan Whitmer – because I laughed out loud so freaking much while reading it has stuck in my head forever. (Out July 29.)

