Tags

, ,

So, as you probably know because everyone has been raving about this book forfreakingever, my wonderful friend Julie Murphy’s book, Side Effects May Vary, releases tomorrow. In honor of main character Alice, who works her way through her kinda evil bucket list only to turn she’s in remission, Julie asked people to post their own bucket lists. And so, here’s mine!

side effectsGet my driver’s license

  • Learn all the world capitals (there are still like 8 I cannot retain in my brain)
  • Visit Russia (not that I’m a huge fan right now, but I minored in Russian and Slavic Studies in college and took Russian for three years, and I must go before I die)
  • Get published (June 24th of this year, baby! FINALLY.)
  • Go to all 50 states (25 down, 25 to go)
  • Live outside of New York or Israel for a year (Not that Philly’s terribly far off, but still. Three years!)
  • Dye my hair red (Moving to another city for three years really helps you not care what you look like, ever)
  • Self-publish something (More on that soon, hopefully!)
  • Donate my hair (Four times, actually, but as my hair is growing back from the last donation at an unusually glacial pace for me, I think that was it for me!)
  • Take a long train ride up or down the east coast (I know, I know, the Amtrak thing. Eh. One way or another, I’ll make this happen. I love trains so much.)
  • Get paid for blogging (This one was on my list for a reallllly long time. Thank you, B&N, for knocking that one off!)
  • Write a short story as an adult (I’ve written three ever – one in 8th grade, one in 12th grade, and one freshman year of college – all for class. I find it immensely challenging, so it’d be cool to try my hand at it now, and for fun, no less.)
  • Go to Iceland
  • Go to Amsterdam
  • Go to Morocco (I’m really big into travel ambitions. Travel used to be a thing my husband and I were pretty good at doing. Our newest jobs kind of ruined that. Now we’re like We can maybe do a weekend in Chicago. Pathetic.)
  • 264_614832323939_4095_nGo to Istanbul (I had to put on at least one that I actually made happen, and this was the super, super top of my travel bucket list before I went!)
  • Buy a house (Which is actually a thing I find terrifying but I’m pretty sure it’s a thing I want to do. Eventually.)
  • Go to Seattle, and see both Kurt Cobain’s house and the Experience Music Project (I do not care that I am a massive cliche. Not even a little.)
  • Do a book signing (A couple of these should be coming up this year, but I’m secretly not counting either of them, because at one I will not be signing finished books, and at the other I have to bring pre-signed bookplates because I am a sad Sabbath observer. Still, you should come to both! Really!)
  • Watch the following series from start to finish (unless it turns out I don’t like them and them I’m permitted to quit): Buffy, Friday Night Lights, My So-Called Life, Scandal
  • Meet all my CPs in person (I am actually pretty far along in this! *side-eyes Erica Chapman*)proxy
  • Make perfect macarons (I have come close-ish…but still so far.)
  • Buy a relevant charm to celebrate every book I publish (Just bought my first one, as seen in picture, for Behind the Scenes; thankfully I have a little time to find ones for Under the Lights and My Name is Everett!)
  • Have an entire shelf comprised strictly of autographed books/ARCs by friends (I actually might already have this, but because I alphabetize my books, it’s hard to say. Plus, it won’t count until 2015, when I will add The Circle of Twelve by Maggie Hall to that shelf. CP books are the greatest books.)

That’s all I’ve got for now, and to finish off, here’s a little more on Julie and Side Effects May Vary!

What if you’d been living your life as if you were dying—only to find out that you had your whole future ahead of you?

When sixteen-year-old Alice is diagnosed with leukemia, her prognosis is grim. To maximize the time she does have, she vows to spend her final months righting wrongs—however she sees fit. She convinces her friend Harvey, whom she knows has always had feelings for her, to help her with a crazy bucket list that’s as much about revenge (humiliating her ex-boyfriend and getting back at her arch nemesis) as it is about hope (doing something unexpectedly kind for a stranger and reliving some childhood memories). But just when Alice’s scores are settled, she goes into remission.

Now Alice is forced to face the consequences of all that she’s said and done, as well as her true feelings for Harvey. But has she done irreparable damage to the people around her, and to the one person who matters most?

Julie Murphy’s SIDE EFFECTS MAY VARY is a fearless and moving tour de force about love, life, and facing your own mortality.

BUY LINKS:
IndieBound: www.indiebound.org/book/9780062245359
B&N: www.barnesandnoble.com/w/side-effects-may-vary-julie-murphy/1115554719?ean=9780062245359
Amazon: www.amazon.com/Side-Effects-Vary-Julie-Murphy/dp/006224535X
Julie Murphy Author Photo

Julie lives in North Texas with her husband who loves her, her dog who adores her, and her cat who tolerates her. When she’s not writing or trying to catch stray cats, she works at an academic library. Side Effects May Vary is Julie’s debut novel. Julie can best be found on her website, tumblr, or twitter.

