Tags

,

Why, hello there! Today on the blog I’ve got the lovely Susan Gloss, whose debut, Vintage, releases from William Morrow on March 25! It’s the rare Adult fiction I’m super psyched to read, and I’m thrilled to be giving away a copy of a coveted ARC to celebrate!

First, a little more info on the book!

VintageHC CAt Hourglass Vintage in Madison, Wisconsin, every item in the boutique has a story to tell… and so do the women who are drawn there.

Yellow Samsonite suitcase with ivory, quilted lining, 1950s…
Violet Turner had always dreamed of owning a shop like Hourglass Vintage. Though she knows the personal history behind each precious item she sells, Violet refuses to acknowledge her own past. When she is faced with the possibility of losing the store, she realizes that, as much as she wants to, she cannot save it alone.

Taffeta tea length wedding gown with scooped neckline and cap sleeves, 1952…
Eighteen-year-old April Morgan is nearly five months along in an unplanned pregnancy when her hasty engagement is broken. When she returns the perfect 1950s wedding dress, she discovers unexpected possibilities and friends who won’t let her give up on her dreams.

Orange sari made from silk dupioni with gold paisley design, 1968…
Betrayed by her husband, Amithi Singh begins selling off her old clothes, remnants of her past life. After decades of housekeeping and parenting a daughter who rejects her traditional ways, she fears she has nothing more ahead for her.

An engaging story that beautifully captures the essence of women’s friendship and love, Vintage is a charming tale of possibility, of finding renewal and hope when we least expect it.

Sigh. Sounds gorgeous, doesn’t it? And of course I had to ask Susan Gloss some questions about her own favorite vintages. So check hers out, and tell us yours in the comments!

susan glossVintage album? On Etsy, anything over 20 years old is considered vintage, so some of the first albums I ever bought now fall into that category. When I got a CD player for my 8th grade graduation, one of my first album purchases was Radiohead’s Pablo Honey in 1993. I love that the album is something I could appreciate at age 13 and can still appreciate now, but on a different level.

Vintage item from your own wardrobe? A few years ago, I bought a vintage Burberry trench coat off eBay. It has a zip-out wool liner, so I can wear it from early spring all the way into late fall. And it goes with absolutely everything. It cost me a fraction of what I would have spent on a new Burberry trench and, honestly, I think the quality is better.

Vintage non-clothing item? I have a red Samsonite carry-on bag from the 60s that I bought at a garage sale. It’s the perfect size for weekend trips, and so much more fun and stylish than a backpack.

Vintage photograph? There’s this iconic photo of Jackie O on the streets of New York in 1971, by photographer Ron Galella. She’s swinging her arms and has her sunglasses in her hand. She’s wearing jeans and ribbed sweater. It’s such a relaxed moment. So different from the buttoned-up first lady that Americans grew used to seeing in earlier years.

Vintage celebrity dress? Natalie Portman wore a 1954 Dior gown to the 2012 Oscars that I absolutely loved. It was red organza with tiny black polka dots on it.

And, since this is a novel about friendship, what’s your favorite memory with a friend? The summer after our high school graduation, some girlfriends and I went to my family’s cottage together for a weekend. It wasn’t long after Jerry Garcia died, so the radio stations we listened to were playing a lot of Grateful Dead in those days. I remember four of us girls packed in to my friend’s little Nissan, driving on a dark country road with no one else around. “Turn On Your Love Light” came on the radio and we stopped the car and got out to dance under the stars. I’m still in touch with those girls, and now all of us even have kids of our own. But I still see that moment so clearly in my mind as the pause between childhood and adulthood.

So freaking cute ❤

Want to win an ARC? Of course you do! Behold, the glorious Rafflecopter – enter to win until Midnight EST on Sunday, March 9. The winner will be announced on Monday morning!

Click here to enter the Rafflecopter Giveaway!

