Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Why hello there! Welcome to yet another episode of Dahlia’s Obsession With Lists As Facilitated by The Broke and the Bookish. This week’s list is Top Ten 2014 Releases I’m Dying to Read, but given that I’m a 2014 release, as is most of the rest of my debut group, OneFourKidLit, I opted not to play favorites and instead to focus on the 2014 releases I’m dying for that aren’t debuts. (Trust me, I’ll focus on debuts plenty in the coming months!)

*Please note that I was lucky enough to get an ARC for my most highly anticipated 2014 title, which explains why there’s no sign here of WE WERE LIARS by E. Lockhart, which was awesome. You can read my review here.

EVERYTHING LEADS TO YOU by Nina LaCour (2014) – Have you read HOLD STILL? THE DISENCHANTMENTS? Unless Nina LaCour suddenly starts writing nonfic about the history of rug cleaner, I will read everything this woman writes, ever.

ISLA AND THE HAPPILY EVER AFTER by Stephanie Perkins (5/13/14) – I constantly lament the lack of straight-up light contemporary romance in YA, but Perkins is one of the few authors who consistently delivers it. I definitely prefer ANNA to LOLA, but I love the whole “companion” thing in general, and I look forward to having a complete set!

I’LL GIVE YOU THE SUN by Jandy Nelson (9/11/14) – Look, Ms. Nelson, no pressure, but… THE SKY IS EVERYWHERE, so.

LIFE BY COMMITTEE by Corey Ann Haydu (7/1/14) – I love love loved Haydu’s 2013 debut, OCD LOVE STORY, and would’ve probably read her version of the phone book if she’d released it as a followup, but fortunately, LBC doesn’t only have a great author but a great premise.

THE SUMMER I WASN’T ME by Jessica Verdi (4/1/14) – Similarly, Verdi’s 2013 debut, MY LIFE AFTER NOW, pretty much convinced me I’d have to have her next book, but I couldn’t quite imagine she’d touch on anything quite as interesting as the subject of MLAN, i.e. HIV. Welp, ass out of you and me, because Verdi’s followup is about a girl at a de-gay-ifying camp.

PANIC by Lauren Oliver (3/4/14) – I’d initially assumed this was part of Oliver’s Delirium series, which isn’t really my thing. But when I discovered it was contemp and heard her read from it, I knew I needed it in my life, preferably on release day.

ON THE FENCE by Kasie West (7/1/14) – After reading THE DISTANCE BETWEEN US, I knew I was going to end up seeking out every Kasie West book possible; the romance was just too cute not to, and the MC’s voice too fun. This looks like another book in the same vein, which means it must be mine, ASAP.

COMPLICIT by Stephanie Kuehn (6/24/14) – I haven’t yet read Kuehn’s debut, CHARM & STRANGE, because, well, copy edit enough shifter erotica and you’ll be dying for a break from werewolves too. But I will someday, because I hear fantastic things about it, and anyway, not the point, because her 2014 release is a contemp standalone that sounds chilling and mind-screwy and awesome.

DON’T LOOK BACK by Jennifer L. Armentrout (4/15/14) – A creeptastic book about a Mean Girl? As if I could possibly pass this up.

BLEED LIKE ME by Christa Desir (10/7/14) – I’m a sucker for books with song titles by bands I love as their titles, as long as there’s some relevance there. Pretty sure this book about a dangerously co-dependent couple is set to do Shirley Manson and the boys some serious justice, and I for one can’t wait.

TO ALL THE BOYS I’VE LOVED BEFORE by Jenny Han (4/22/14) – I just love this premise so much. Could it be any cuter?

THE FOURTH WISH by Lindsay Ribar (7/31/14) – I loved the first book in this duology, THE ART OF WISHING, so much, I actually got into an argument with my husband because I refused to put it down when we were running late. So, um, yes. Want.

What are your most anticipated reads of 2014, debut or otherwise?

