Tags

Now that NaNoWriMo’s in full gear, I won’t be doing much blogging, other than the Top Ten Tuesday posts I wrote a while ago and pre-scheduled. But because I do miss blogging when I go too long without it, I figured I’d drop in with a quick What’s Up Wednesday, just to say hi! 🙂 So, in the spirit of the meme, here’s what I’m to this week, and this month of November in general!

WHAT I’M READING – Thanks to a wonderful blogger friend of mine, I’ve finally managed to get an ARC of WE WERE LIARS, by the inimitable E. Lockhart. Those who follow me on Twitter and read my recs may know just how obsessed I am with the Ruby Oliver books, and how often I mention THE DISREPUTABLE HISTORY OF FRANKIE-LANDAU BANKS in discussions of feminist YA. This May 2014 release is something completely new from the multi-talented author, a psychological thriller that creeps you out and makes you ask questions little by little.

WHAT I’M WRITING – Like many others, I’m participating in NaNoWriMo this month, and attempting to write the follow-up to BEHIND THE SCENES, by June 2014 debut. I can’t say much about it yet, and I honestly don’t know how much of what I’m slaving over now will translate to the final version, but it’s my first time writing tri-POV, and it’s definitely an interesting challenge that once again raises issues I never would’ve thought about without trying!

I’ve also been sneaking in more words on my contemp NA standalone, LAST WILL AND TESTAMENT, where I can, because sometimes, that book just writes itself! (You can follow its progress in my ms progress sidebar on this blog; updating that thing gives me so much joy!)

WHAT INSPIRES ME RIGHT NOW – Authors with naturally fun, funny voices. I swear, some people make it look effortless, and it makes their books such a joy to read. Recent reads in this vein include THE DISTANCE BETWEEN US by Kasie West and Emery Lord’s April 2014 debut, OPEN ROAD SUMMER.

WHAT ELSE I’VE BEEN UP TO – Not much! BEHIND THE SCENES will be coming back to me soon, so I’m just writing as much as I can before I have to switch into revision mode. And, of course, copy editing and dayjob!

So, that’s me! What are you up to this week?

