Tags

,

It’s weird how for so many years, Fall meant the start of the school year, and all these new beginnings, and now it just…doesn’t. Now it’s just that time of year it starts to get cold, and that season when a month of my life is consumed by Jewish holidays, and TV comes back but I don’t really have time to watch it.

So, all in all, a lot of exciting stuff.

Anyway, it’s pretty obvious I haven’t been doing much blogging, which is partly because I have posts going up on other blogs soon and partly because I have such limited writing time these days, and my blog just isn’t where I want to spend it. (Though if you’ve been keeping an eye on my mss in the sidebar, which, of course you haven’t, why would you, you’d see that my NA WIP has crept over 54K, which I’m excited about!)

But I sort of hate going this long without blogging, and there is stuff happening in life, so, here’s a little roundup of my Fall:

September – hahahahaha this month didn’t really happen because Jewish holidays BYE, ALL THE DAYS. Except that I actually squeezed in my first round of edits for BEHIND THE SCENES, so, *pats self on back*. Also, read a ton, including SMALL DAMAGES by Beth Kephart, UNBREAK MY HEART by Melissa C. Walker, SECOND CHANCE SUMMER by Morgan Matson, WANDERLOVE by Kirsten Hubbard, and FINNIKIN OF THE ROCK by Melina Marchetta.

October – Well, so here we are! The highlight of my month so far has been the Epic YA Trivia Night hosted by McNally-Jackson on the 16th. I was on a team cleverly titled The Artist Formally Known As Printz with Emily Keyes (agent at L. Perkins agency), Amy Stern (agent at Sheldon Fogelman), Meredith Rich (editor at Bloomsbury Spark), and Kelly, a lovely girl who joined our team and turned out to be a huge ringer when it came to Sarah Dessen. We jumped up from last place to 9th out of 25 overall, but we also got every single member of the Baby-Sitters Club correct, so, basically, we were winners where it counted. Plus we got to hear a bunch of awesome authors read from their books (including Gayle Forman from JUST ONE YEAR, Lauren Oliver from PANIC, Bennett Madison from SEPTEMBER GIRLS, and Robin Wasserman from her diary as a teenager, which was the most epic thing I’ve ever heard in my life).

I also had a fabulous call with my editor, Patricia Riley, in which we discussed my follow-up to BEHIND THE SCENES…which I’ll be attempting to NaNo this year. (Doing NaNo too? Be my friend!) BtS was actually my only other real NaNo attempt, and I “won,” so I’m hoping its companion will be another winner, even though I’m attempting something a little trickier this time around!

And October also marked the posting of 2013’s last edition of Perpetual WIPs, i.e. Self-Pubbed Authors Edition. Check it out if you haven’t yet!

I read a ton this month, but some standout faves were: DANGEROUS GIRLS by Abigail Haas, SEKRET by Lindsay Smith (4/14), TSARINA by J. Nelle Patrick (2/14), SPIRAL and ONLY BETWEEN US by Mila Ferrera, and THE DISTANCE BETWEEN US by Kasie West.

November – This month is all about NaNoWriMo and writing my BtS follow-up, but thanks to The Broke and the Bookish, I’ll have a couple of Top 10 lists going up, so my blog will not be a sad and desolate place. (Particularly excited about the one I have going up on the 19th; I suspect there will be a lot of people rushing to Goodreads/Amazon/B&N as a result!)

Also, Thanksgivukah! For what will be the only occurrence of it in our lifetime, Chanukah this year falls on Thanksgiving, and I for one am actually incredibly excited about that, although it means I am super behind on gift buying. But whatever! Fun times!

Given that I bought a tremendous number of books this month I still haven’t gotten to, I expect November will be a packed reading month as well – looking forward to TEN by Gretchen McNeil, JUST ONE YEAR by Gayle Forman, DARE ME by Megan Abbott, NORTH OF BEAUTIFUL by Justina Chen, and many, many others.

December – aka the month I pray I’ll finish drafting BtS #2 and the month BEHIND THE SCENES goes to copy edits! Eep! Plus two more Top Ten lists scheduled, because I get really excited about those, and it’s the very last month before my debut year begins! (Plus, come January, I finally get to show off my cover….)

So, that’s my fall! What’s been going on for yours, and what’s on tap?

