A little bit of obvious honesty right here: I’m a pretty big fan of my Perpetual WIPs series. (For more info on WTF that is if you’re new to the blog, click here.) It’s a series I created to help writers feel less alone in the process, but at the same time, it’s a series I hope helps inform other writers too.

In no edition do I find the latter more important than this one – the Self-Published Authors edition. Why do I say that? Because when I send out questions to the groups of participants, I always give the option to abstain. In six editions of the series, the #1 largest abstention I’ve ever had was in this series, when I asked about the most helpful resources for self-publishing.

There aren’t a lot. And as you’ll see from the responses, it’s an incredibly tough journey to embark upon without guidance. Obviously, this is only a jumping-off point, and while I won’t reveal the identities of the authors who participated in this edition, there’s a good chance that if you’re contemplating self-publishing, you’re acquainted with them already. If not, hopefully the resources mentioned in answer to the above question will help too.

As always, a massive thank-you to the participating authors – they volunteer their time, knowledge, and experiences without getting a single thing in return, and I love them for it. To me, on top of everything else, this series is a reminder of just how many people are happy to help, for no gain, for no notoriety, for nothing other than to help other writers through the process. I hope, if nothing else, you see that too.

But I also hope you learn a little something, so without further ado, I bring you Perpetual WIPs: Self-Published Authors!

