Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , ,

I don’t know how I always manage to forget about Broke and Bookish’s Top Ten Tuesday, but seeing as I stumbled upon someone else’s list of top 10 fave contemporary YA authors, I obviously had to do my own!

1. Courtney Summers – To the shock of absolutely nobody who knows me. I’ve probably creeped the hell out of CS with my fangirling by now, but I can’t help it. I’m addicted to her should-be-unlikeable heroines and deadpan narration. Ranking her books from most to least fave, I’d say CRACKED UP TO BE > SOME GIRLS ARE > FALL FOR ANYTHING > THIS IS NOT A TEST. (The latter is really paranormal, not contemporary, but it effectively reads as the latter, so I’ve included it.)

2. Melina Marchetta – This is basically what it looks like when I read a book by Melina Marchetta: First 50-100 pages – WHAT THE HELL IS THIS BOOK I HATE IT. Everything after – OH MY GOD THIS IS THE GREATEST THING I HAVE EVER READ AND I DON’T WANT IT TO END. Ranking her contemporary books from most to least fave, I’d say JELLICOE ROAD > SAVING FRANCESCA > THE PIPER’S SON > LOOKING FOR ALIBRANDI.

3. Jennifer Brown – OK, admittedly, I have not yet read every single one of Jennifer Brown’s books (I tend not to buy hardcover and PERFECT ESCAPE hasn’t yet come out in paperback) but I absolutely love what I’ve read of hers so far. I recently reread HATE LIST and there’s just so much about the crafting of that book that I love, from the way the interspersed articles on the shooting relay information to the real humanization of the killer. (Props to JB’s editor for that one, as she herself credits him/her for that in the Q&A in the backmatter.)

4. Gayle Forman – IF I STAY is heartbreaking, SISTERS IN SANITY is fun and inspiring, and WHERE SHE WENT… was likeable enough! A solid author whose books I will probably continue to buy until I have a complete collection.

5. John Green – Liked LOOKING FOR ALASKA, felt like I was reading it again with PAPER TOWNS, but holy hell did I love THE FAULT IN OUR STARS. I don’t know if it was the switch to a female POV or the fact that cancer stories are close to my heart, but John Green wins for my favorite book of 2012.

6. Jennifer Echols – Still working my way through, but I just read GOING TOO FAR which definitely jumped to the top of my JE list. (Of course, in the interest of full disclosure, she also awesomely let me interview her for YAMF.)

7. E. Lockhart – OK, if I’m being honest, I am not totally in love with her books. In fact, I’ve given most of the ones I’ve read three stars on Goodreads. BUT, the sheer number of them I’ve been interested in enough to purchase, and the way my mind is continuously boggled by the variety of what she writes puts her squarely on my list. (And also makes her the YA writer whose career I’d most like to have.)

I feel weird including writers when I’ve only read one of their books, but I figure that if that one book made me decide I was going to go out and buy all future ones by that author, they should count, so for my last 3 – my fave authors whose books I’ve only read one of although I plan to read more!

8. Jandy Nelson – There are no words for how much I loved THE SKY IS EVERYWHERE, except for these: I read it twice in two days. And the poetry scattered throughout? Beautiful. And the story? Heartbreaking. And character traits that usually annoy me to death? Done wonderfully. Love love love.

9. Nina LaCourYes, I know I need to read THE DISENCHANTMENTS. And I fully plan to, as soon as it comes out in paperback, because HOLD STILL? Damn good.

10. Stephanie Perkins – Replace THE DISENCHANTMENTS with LOLA AND THE BOY NEXT DOOR and HOLD STILL with ANNA AND THE FRENCH KISS.

