Tags

, , , , ,

OK, so I’m totally just ripping this off from the fabulous Gear Up To Get An Agent contest currently being run by writer Deana Barnhart, but I’m not participating in the contest itself because I already have my own wonderful agent and I got jealous when I saw everyone’s posts, so I decided to do one of these anyway!

Where do you write? At my desk in my guest room/office.

Quick. Go to your writing space, sit down and look to your left. What is the first thing you see? Already there, and the answer is a water bottle and wheat crackers. Usually it’d be a style sheet for one of the publishers I copy edit for, though!

Favorite time to write? Nighttime. Insane hours of it, sometimes.

Drink of choice while writing? Water, but I wish it were something sexier like bourbon.

When writing , do you listen to music or do you need complete silence? Music, almost always. Usually Pandora with a combination of my Nirvana, Pretty Reckless, Weezer, Offspring, Hole, Florence & the Machines, and Vines stations.

What was your inspiration for your latest manuscript and where did you find it? My latest novel is a contemporary YA redux of the biblical book of Esther, so the inspiration’s pretty obvious. I sat through more than one megillah reading thinking “This would be amazing if I could figure out how to turn this story into YA,” and then this past Purim, it totally came to me, which was just the greatest feeling.

What’s your most valuable writing tip? I feel like I’m a broken record with this one, but ALWAYS WRITE FORWARD. It’s OK to have your first draft be really first draft-y. That’s what revisions are for. It’s not OK to get bogged down in chapter two and never finish because you think everything must be perfect on the first shot. Just keep going and then revise the hell out of that thing!

