Tags

I entered into a multi-blog contest called The Writer’s Voice, which required entrants to post the plot synopses from their queries as well as our first 250 words. I encourage anyone reading to click the link and check out the other 199 entries; there are a whole bunch of fantastic ones in there!

Title: BEHIND THE SCENES
Genre: Contemporary YA
Word Count: 77,000

QUERY:

Sixteen-year-old Ally Duncan’s best friend may be the Vanessa Park – star of TV’s hottest new teen drama – but Ally’s not interested in following in her BFF’s Hollywood footsteps. In fact, the only thing Ally’s ever really wanted is to go to Columbia and study abroad in Paris. But when her father’s mounting medical bills threaten to stop her dream in its tracks, Ally’s only choice for making the cash she needs is to accept a position as Van’s on-set assistant.

Spending the extra time with Van turns out to be fun, and getting to know Van’s sexy co-star Liam is an added bonus. But when the actors’ publicists arrange for Van and Liam to “date” for the tabloids just as he and Ally have cemented their relationship, Ally will have to decide exactly what role she’s capable of playing in their world of make believe. If she can’t play by Hollywood’s rules, she may lose her job, her best friend, and her first shot at love.

FIRST 250:

The buzzing was insistent, intrusive, and it was making my palms itch.

I forced myself to ignore it, and breathed a sigh of relief when it stopped. But then, a few seconds later, it started again.

Dammit, Van. I just knew my best friend was the one calling, even though she knew I’d be in class. She’d had an audition that morning for a teen dramedy show, and despite having been in plenty of movies with everyone who’s anyone in Hollywood, she was more desperate to land the role of Ditz #3 in Daylight Falls than she’d been to play Brad freakin’ Pitt’s stepdaughter three years ago.

My phone fell silent, and I prayed she wouldn’t try again. Vanessa knew I hated when she interrupted me in class. Little-known fact: girls who pick up the phone during French do not go to Columbia.

Just when I was finally sure Vanessa had gotten the message, my bag began vibrating for a third time.

“Hey, Duncan, I think your bag is buzzing.”

“I know,” I whispered back to Nate Donovan without turning around, “but what am I supposed to do about it?”

“Have you considered, I dunno, answering it? Man, and to think I actually needed you to tutor me earlier in the year.”

“Funny, Donovan. Anyway, it’s just Vanessa. She can wait. Le subjunctif cannot.”

“Vanessa, you say.” Even in a whisper, he sounded obviously intrigued. I rolled my eyes. Nate always got a hard-on at the mere mention of her name.

