Tags

, , ,

One of the things I miss most about working in publishing is the sheer number of free books you get as a result. If you work in publishing and you’re still paying for your paperbacks, you’re a sucker of the highest order. However, once you leave the biz, it’s not quite as easy to score free titles. Fortunately, Amazon and B&N make it pretty easy to replenish your collection on a budget, and not just with those classics you can always find for a penny or less.

Obviously, support your local bookstore! and all that, but sometimes, a girl just can’t go around spending $15.95 on every paperback in sight. As such, I’ve discovered the fine “art” of combing through the sale books and coming up with some titles that have been hanging out on my to-read list forever. Some of my best finds and recommendations are below, and all formats are trade paperback unless indicated otherwise:

B&N

THE POSTMISTRESS by Sarah Blake for $4.48 (Can’t attest to it’s quality but it was recommended to me by a co-worker so I’ve gotta give it a shot)

THIS IS WHERE I LEAVE YOU by Jonathan Tropper for $4.48 (I actually paid full price for this once upon a time, but loved it and so felt compelled to recommend)

DIRTY GIRLS SOCIAL CLUB by Alisa Valdes-Rodriguez for $4.48 (Trashy-sounding chick lit is always a winner with me)

HOW TO TEACH FILTHY RICH GIRLS by Zoey Dean for $4.48 (Like the short-lived JoAnna Garcia vehicle it inspired on the CW, this is one book that should be judged by neither title nor cover)

Amazon
SOME GIRLS ARE and FALL FOR ANYTHING by Courtney Summers, each for $4.00 (Sadly, my favorite CS novel, CRACKED UP TO BE, is five bucks more, but in my opinion, anything she writes is worth reading if you’re a YA lover)

TWENTY BOY SUMMER by Sarah Ockler for $3.46 (Still waiting for my copy to arrive but this one’s been so heavily praised by YA fans that I’m just excited to have found it for cheap!)

SHOPGIRL by Steve Martin (Kindle) for $2.99 (Best thing about a Kindle besides how many books you can take on vacation is discovering a book that comes super cheap in e-form only)

BROKEBACK MOUNTAIN by Annie Proulx for $3.98 (OK, so it’s got the movie cover, but it’s what’s on the inside that counts!)

